Board of Directors


Shelton G. Hopkins, MD 
Retired Orthopaedic Surgeon, Orthopaedic Associates of Dallas 

Vice President:
Barry McNeil
Senior Counsel, Haynes and Boone LLP

Chuck Gall
Partner, Litigation, Hunton, Andrews & Kurth

Jabeen Zaidi
Marketing Consultant, IM Therapist and Foreign Language Teacher, IPT & Greenhill School

Immediate Past President:
David M. Hundley
Counsel, Rees-Jones Holdings LLC

Barbra Applebaum 
Retired, School Teacher for the Plano Independent School District

Janie Autz
Director of Outreach Ministry, East Dallas Christian Church

Alexandra Bacalao
Ex Officio, Junior League Liaison

Christopher Casner
Retired, Senior Consultant Verizon Communications

Amita Chhabra
Owner, Radical Rags

Carole S. Cohen
Retired, Financial Consultant Wells Fargo Advisors, LLC

Myra Fischel
Community Volunteer and Independent Real Estate Broker

Chuck Gall
Partner, Litigation, Hunton, Andrews & Kurth

Byron Harris

Linda Humphries
Community Volunteer

Frank Lloyd
Retired, Associate Dean-Executive Education SMU Cox School of Business

Ellen Marks
Community Volunteer



Beth Maultsby
Partner, Family Law, Goranson Bain

Amy Merrill
Part-Time Contractor, Microsoft

Jim Meyer
Partner, Vinson & Elkins LLP

Ryan Mitchell
Vice President, Talent Development and Diversity and Inclusion, Texas Capital Bank

Gwen Moore
Retired, Past President and Co-Founder of the PLAN Fund

Jeff Morales
Partner, Litigation, Casla Partners, LLC

Megan Nicholson
Partner, ImageArb LLC

Femi Omonije
Owner/CEO, Eko & Sons LLC

Nancy Rivin
Community Volunteer

Joyce Roth
Chief Legal Officer, NorthMarq Capital

Linda Rutherford
Chief Operating Officer, EAGFO, LLC

Francis Ryburn
Community Volunteer

Daniel Simon, Jr.
Senior Software Engineer II, Raytheon

Mayela Trespalacios
Director of Strategic Business Consulting, Epsilon

Kate Watson
Community Volunteer

Advisory Board


Sheana Chen

Ruben E. Esquivel

Gayle G. Johansen

Rev. Rob Leischner

Sharon Martin

Morton Meyerson

Sammye Myers

Camille Owens

Colleen Taylor

Marnie Wildenthal


Literacy Achieves Staff


Administrative Staff

Sarah Papert
Chief Executive Officer

214-265-5057 x 104

Teresa Ramirez
Director of Finance and Administration

214-265-5057 x 109

Heather Watkins
Director of Donor Relations and Communication

214-265-5057 x 111

LaTress Peoples
Talent and Resource Manager

214-265-5057 x 114

Kassie Treviño
Accounting Assistant

214-265-5057 x 107

Adult Program Staff

Ashley Holm
Outcomes and Evaluation Director

214-265-5057 x 112

La'Tonya Coleman-Hill
Senior Manager, Adult Programs, Vickery Meadow

214-265-5057 x 101

Laura Montalvo
Adult Program Manager, West Dallas
214-265-5057 x 201

Jody Cargill 
Adult Program Manager, ELM-East Dallas
214-265-5057 x 301

Leti Bustamante
Senior Manager, Student Services
214-265-5057 x 304

Children's Program Staff

Birgit Scott
Children's Program Director

214-265-5057 x 103

Marina Leguizamo
Children's Program Coordinator, West Dallas

214-265-5057 x 202

Dana Norris
Children's Program Coordinator, ELM-East Dallas

214-265-5057 x 302